Persimmon Pear Muffins

I was a kitchen machine yesterday! My fruit bowl was staring me down as if to say “You’d better think of something to use us in. We’re not getting any younger.” While I still have beaucoup pears to use up, I had 3 persimmons that came in last week’s produce bin. Persimmons?!?!? I don’t even know where to start. I won’t bore you with how I arrived at my decision, but in the end I decided muffins were the way to go.

Again I adapted this recipe from an existing one. My every day, go-to gluten free cookbook is called The Whole Life Nutrition Cookbook. I used the Peachy Millet Flour Muffins as my base recipe (pg. 137 of the cookbook). Here’s my adaptation:

Persimmon Pear Muffins

2 1/2 Cups brown rice flour

1/2 Cup tapioca flour

1/2 whole cane sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons xanthan gum

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

2 Cups pureed persimmons (about 4 persimmons, peeled. if you only have 3 toss in a pear and puree that too)

1/4 melted organic virgin coconut oil

2 teaspoons vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 375˚F. Line muffin tins with paper or silicone cups (or lightly oil tins)

2. In a large bowl combine the flours, sugar, xanthan gum, soda, powder and salt. Mix well.

3. Peel and puree persimmons (and pear, if using) in a blender or food processor until smooth. Measure out 2 cups. Put puree in a small bowl and whisk it together with the melted coconut oil and vanilla. Pour wet ingredients into the dry and gently mix together.

4. Spoon batter into muffin tins. Bake for about 20 minutes.

Kid Foodie wasn’t in the mood to critique these muffins yesterday. I had some fudge that trumped these healthy bites. But little brother surprisingly gobbled these up! He downed two in about as many minutes! I was pleasantly surprised by how these turned out. The trouble with most gluten free baking is texture. Either it’s gritty or doesn’t hold together well or just off somehow. There are some great GF flour mixes available to order nowadays, but they’re pretty spendy. And for us, I just buy whatever is on sale at the store. So I often use what I have even if it’s not what the recipe calls for. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. This time it TOTALLY worked. These are moist and dense with just enough of a sweet/tart combination. These are easy, healthy and yummy.

 

* First image found on Pinterest.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Kid Foodie

  • About This Blog’s Authors

    Even before his diagnosis of Celiac Disease in 2010, Kid Foodie was passionate about food. Although the diagnosis brought some restrictions, his appreciation and appetite for good, healthy food has only skyrocketed.

    For me, his diagnosis of Celiac opened up a world of food possibilities and a new way of thinking about what we eat. It has absolutely been a joy to overhaul our family's food choices and we all continue to benefit from it. We write this blog to help our family and friends understand how to cook gluten free and to provide them recipes to try out themselves.

    Kid Foodie now has his own blog:
    heykidfoodie.com

  • Kid Foodie & Mom

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

