Valentine’s Day Feast

I guess the title of this post is a little misleading. Yesterday I created more of a Valentine’s Day snack for the boys. It was the second year I’ve done it. Last year I surprised them with a chocolate fondue spread that they loved! They asked for it again this year, so I happily obliged. Not one to repeat anything, I thought I would fulfill Little Brother’s request for Nutella stuffed crepes and Kid Foodie’s desire for something containing raspberries.

So here was the spread I put together. In my little pump house studio I set up this table layered with vintage finds and things that represent each boy — like the painter’s palette for Little Brother who is a fantastic artist with a gallery showing already under his 8 year old belt. Accents of blue instead of traditional red or pink because they are, after all, elementary school aged boys! And mounds of elevated food as a nod to Kid Foodie’s passion.

Of course, I didn’t have all the ingredients to do what I originally had in mind. I wanted to make a raspberry galette but had to settle for cream puffs with a raspberry sauce. This was a great decision, in my opinion. You get a lot of bang for your buck, the ingredients list is short and the technique quite easy.

Now, I know I need to work on my food styling a bit here. In hindsight I wish I would’ve used something other than the blender container to pour the sauce onto the crepes, but I pretty much only had 2 opportunities, and this was the best one. Little Brother had heard about Nutella stuffed crepes from his teacher and wanted me to try it. So I found a recipe for homemade Nutella and whipped some up myself. And you know what? It worked!

All in all, the boys appreciated my effort (which was good since I spent an unusually long day in the kitchen preparing it all)! However . . . after a couple of bites and a bit of complaining about putting raspberries on the crepes (Little Bro doesn’t like anything that looks gloppy/jelly-like) their attention quickly turned back to the mounds of terrible processed candy that came home with their classroom Valentine’s cards. What’s a mom to do?

I’ll do separate recipes later on for the Nutella, GF crepes and GF cream puffs. They each deserve their own post, I think. I hope everyone got to enjoy some part of Valentine’s Day. Did anyone try something new for their special someone yesterday? How did it turn out? I’d love to hear your stories.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Kid Foodie

  • About This Blog’s Authors

    Even before his diagnosis of Celiac Disease in 2010, Kid Foodie was passionate about food. Although the diagnosis brought some restrictions, his appreciation and appetite for good, healthy food has only skyrocketed.

    For me, his diagnosis of Celiac opened up a world of food possibilities and a new way of thinking about what we eat. It has absolutely been a joy to overhaul our family's food choices and we all continue to benefit from it. We write this blog to help our family and friends understand how to cook gluten free and to provide them recipes to try out themselves.

    Kid Foodie now has his own blog:
    heykidfoodie.com

  • Kid Foodie & Mom

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

