Poached Egg Over Roasted Tomato/Red Pepper/Garlic On Steel Cut Oats

The first “C” grade I ever earned was in 6th grade Home Ec. It was embarrassing. But strangely, the one success I remember from that year was learning to make poached eggs. Until a few weeks ago when I wondered if I could still make them, the one and only time I’d ever had them was in that class (circa 1984). Turns out, I can still make them and I do still love them. Tonight, when searching Pinterest for dinner inspirations, I came across a video on how to poach (or sous vide) eggs in little plastic pouches. The eggs come out nice and intact. I had to try it.

I had seen some recipes that combined poached eggs with tomato sauce that looked delicious. So I decided to try that served over the last of my steel cut oats. It was just enough to serve the four of us. I will definitely be making this again. It would make an awesome, hearty breakfast too.

I started by roasting my tomatoes, red peppers and garlic. In a baking dish, cut up 2 – 4 tomatoes into quarters, as well as 4 – 5 smaller red peppers. Peel about 6 – 8 cloves of garlic and place around and between the tomatoes and peppers. Drizzle olive oil and balsamic vinegar (about 2 Tbsp ea) over it all and sprinkle salt and pepper to taste. Roast in the oven for 40 minutes at 400˚F. Once they are roasted, transfer all to a blender and pulse to blend so that there are still nice chunks. Set aside.

For the steel cut oats, bring 2 cups of water to boil, add 1 cup oats. Turn heat down and cook for 30 minutes or so.

To sous vide the eggs, tear off a piece of plastic wrap about 12″ x 12″. Brush with olive oil, sprinkle with salt, pepper and any other herbs you’d like. I added oregano to mine. Center the coated plastic wrap over a small bowl and make a well. Crack an egg into the bowl. Gather the corners of the wrap and tie with string. Do this to all the eggs you plan to poach. Transfer the egg pouches to boiling water and boil for about 4 – 5 minutes. I don’t particularly like runny yolks. I like mine more gelatinous so I let mine go a bit longer.

I put my red sauce in a large skillet to warm it up again. Then I spooned the oats into a bowl, layered on the tomato/red pepper sauce, added the egg and sprinkled grated parmesan cheese and a few green onion slivers for garnish. I had high hopes for this concoction and it blew me away. This garnered another 4 thumbs up from Kid Foodie, Little Brother, Dad and Mom.

I had to snap this pic quick before it was all gone. Quite a compliment if you ask me. And a great encouragement to continue experimenting in the kitchen. What I like about meals like this is that there’s nothing fancy going on. But the taste makes you think otherwise. This is real, whole, rustic food at its best.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Katharine

     /  March 30, 2012

    I did a version of this tonite. I wanted to do something light as we were eating early because of a school event tonite. LOVE this way for poaching eggs Nia!!! Thanks for sharing. They were delicious. I had a 1/2 carton of cherry tomatoes left in the fridge, plus 1/3 of jar of roasted red peppers (ie. already roasted). So roasted the tomatoes like you said, then blended them up with the peppers. YUM!!! I had a package of meditteranean flatbread from Trader Joe’s so served the egg and tomato/pepper spread on top of those, along with some feta on top. Yum, yum!
    I also tried making for the first time quinoa cakes to have with this as well…they were so-so. Not my favorite. They turned out too heavy. But once you combined a piece of quinoa cake, with some mesculan greens and some of the egg/flatbread/tomato spread, it all went down well! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Kid Foodie

  • About This Blog’s Authors

    Even before his diagnosis of Celiac Disease in 2010, Kid Foodie was passionate about food. Although the diagnosis brought some restrictions, his appreciation and appetite for good, healthy food has only skyrocketed.

    For me, his diagnosis of Celiac opened up a world of food possibilities and a new way of thinking about what we eat. It has absolutely been a joy to overhaul our family's food choices and we all continue to benefit from it. We write this blog to help our family and friends understand how to cook gluten free and to provide them recipes to try out themselves.

    Kid Foodie now has his own blog:
    heykidfoodie.com

  • Kid Foodie & Mom

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

